top of page

Child's Play (2019)

[Rated R]

A mother gives her son a toy doll for his birthday, unaware of its more sinister nature.--IMDB

 

I wasn't really looking forward to seeing this after seeing the previews of how different Chucky would be, but I decided to give it a try. I can't say I wasted my money. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't great, but it didn't suck either. It's basically a modern day version of Chucky, but with a more realistic storyline than the original. And to that effect, they did a pretty good job with the movie. But the first 30 minutes will be a big transition for any true Child's Play fans: they were just funny and took some getting used to. It's like you just have to watch this movie with a fresh take on Chucky. They almost could've just made a new doll movie and not even named it Child's Play. But after you get adjusted, the movie takes a dark turn and gets more creepy and serious and then it's not so bad. I really liked most of the main characters, so I give an A to casting, but I wasn't a fan of the music effects. They had a cheesy vibe, which could have possibly been on purpose. And the kills... they were pretty unexpectedly good! Most are classic stabby Chucky, but a few are really gory. This movie probably would have rated lower for me if the kills didn't save it because the plot wasn't much. I actually would've liked it more if there were more kills. Ultimately, I didn't love it and I didn't hate it and I am glad I gave it a try. You shouldn't really compare it to the original because they aren't that much a like. Just enjoy it as it if was a new "creepy doll" movie.


In Theaters Now

 

KILLS - 12

  1. jumped from building

  2. murdered animal

  3. scalped by lawnmower and stabbed

  4. unwired

  5. sliced and sawed

  6. stabbed

  7. stabbed in neck

  8. droned

  9. droned

  10. doll attack

  11. doll attack

  12. decapitated & shot

 

TRAILER


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Movies
Home: Categories
Home: Welcome
Home: Subscribe
Home: Feedback
bottom of page