top of page

Tales From the Crypt (1972)

[Rated PG]

Five strangers get lost in a crypt and, after meeting the mysterious Crypt Keeper, receive visions of how they will die.--IMDB


NOTE: All ratings are based on watching it as of today, not the year it was made.

Gore - 2

This movie tries to be gory, so I gave it credit for that. There is more bloodshed and gore than some PG-13 movies now and days, so I was happy about that.


Scariness - 2

There are parts that may scare some kids, so I took that into account.


Creepiness - 1

The creepiness was very very mild.


Plot - 3

There are five short stories in this movie, so I averaged out the score I gave to each for an overall score of 3 on the plots. I am a major fan of anthologies, so there aren't many that aren't worth watching. I enjoyed seeing how creative some of the writings of the earliest Tales from the Crypt stories were. A major theme across the stories being "karma is a b***h"


"And All Through the House" - 4

I enjoyed this story, but already knew how it would end only because I have seen the remake. The Tales From the Crypt series redid this episode in season 1 episode 2. But it was nostalgic watching the original.


"Reflection of Death" - 3

This story was okay. It had me guessing for a while as to what was going on, but in a good way. I just got annoyed when the main character repeated his mistakes.


"Poetic Justice" - 3

The main "bad" guy in this story made me so mad. I just don't understand how people can be so malicious. But the ending was satisfying even though it was kind of predictable.


"Wish You Were Here" - 2

This was my least favorite story in the movie. It was so unoriginal. Yes, even though it is old. I thought I would enjoy it and it would be a better spin on a classic tale, but I was very wrong. There is also a major plot hole with this story and the movie overall.


"Blind Alleys" - 3

This story has also been remade a couple times, so I knew what to expect, but it was still good. There was some wasted time in there and some overthought parts, but it was suspenseful and ended well.


Effects - 1

They did the best they could with what they had, but it just wasn't good enough. The blood looked like paint -- it was bright red and thick.


Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

 

KILLS - 8

  1. bludgeoned

  2. strangled

  3. car accident

  4. hung

  5. heart ripped out

  6. car accident

  7. natural causes

  8. eaten by animal

See video below for in action KILLS!

 

TRAILER


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Movies
Home: Categories
Home: Welcome
Home: Subscribe
Home: Feedback
bottom of page