top of page

Hereditary (2018)

[Rated R]

After the family matriarch passes away, a grieving family is haunted by tragic and disturbing occurrences, and begin to unravel dark secrets.--IMDB


Gore - 3

This movie is not overly gory, but there are some scenes that are literally jaw dropping and shocking. Even if you just watch the movie for this one death scene, that would be worth it.


Scariness - 4

There are some good genuine scares in this movie and the scares really start rolling, back to back towards the end.


Creepiness - 5

There are some seriously creepy parts with so many lurking and creepy characters.


Plot - 4

I had seen so many mixed reviews about this movie prior to seeing it, so I was very curious as to which side I would fall on after watching it. I can honestly say I loved it. I loved the mental illness themes in the movie and how they parallel with the central themes. I loved the awesome acting, twists and turns, and how the movie kept you guessing as to what was going on. This movie is not just a horror though. There is a deeper meaning to it and some good symbolism. So if you are just expecting a good scare, with a basic plot, this may not be the movie for you. It is also emotionally heavy, which may not work well for some people in a horror movie. I will admit that I read an explanation post afterward, which made me appreciate the movie even more, but I still enjoyed it regardless. And a lot of the themes in the movie were based on factual happenings or beliefs, which made it even better and a bit realistic.


Effects - 5

I loved the sound effect and visuals. They were both perfect in this movie.


Rent/Buy options & In Select Theaters

 

KILLS - 8

  1. natural causes

  2. animal flew into window

  3. decapitated

  4. eaten by ants

  5. set on fire

  6. decapitated

  7. dead animal

  8. fell out of window

See video below for in action KILLS!


 

TRAILER


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Movies
Home: Categories
Home: Welcome
Home: Subscribe
Home: Feedback
bottom of page