top of page

Mandy (2018)

[Not Rated]

Mandy is set in the primal wilderness of 1983 where Red Miller, a broken and haunted man hunts an unhinged religious sect who slaughtered the love of his life.--IMDB

 

Mandy is not a movie that is heavy in dialogue. Instead the the movie attempts to show emotion through silent acting and dramatic music. And it is fairly successful. But this movie comes off as more like purely art than an actual horror/action movie. There is almost no action for the first hour, so I really only continued watching because of Nicholas Cage and positive reviews I had seen. But contrary to popular opinions on this film, it was NOT my cup of tea. This is the weirdest, most psychedelic movie I may have ever seen. Some people may enjoy that, but I did not. There were even some weird animated parts. I did enjoy Nicholas Cage's acting. He was very over the top in this one, in a good way. But some of his parts were so over the top, they were unintentionally comical. And the plot is a basic revenge story, which is just okay. I did not feel a real emotional connection to the characters, so that could attribute to why I did not enjoy it as much either. There was so much weirdness, I just had a hard time connecting. I mostly just continued watching to see the kills I had been hearing about and because it is a Nicholas Cage movie. And the kills did not disappoint. They were pretty violent and gory. I tried to watch the movie again just to give it another shot, but I couldn't make it through that first hour again. If I ever watch it again, I will just forward to the last hour when the real action begins.


Rent/Buy options only

 

KILLS - 13

  1. animal dead

  2. sacrificed

  3. burned alive

  4. murdered (not shown)

  5. murdered (not shown)

  6. throat slit

  7. neck snapped

  8. decapitated

  9. impaled

  10. impaled

  11. chopped in head

  12. decapitated

  13. face crushed

 

TRAILER


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Movies
Home: Categories
Home: Welcome
Home: Subscribe
Home: Feedback
bottom of page